GOAL!

If you’ve been following, you know that my scale at home said I reached goal on Wednesday. I’ve been emailing my trackers to 2 Weight Watchers leaders all week. Today, it became official at my 8:30 weigh-in at the best meeting in the area!

P1010999
I bought myself a Pandora bracelet to celebrate. The charms are journey because this has definitely been a journey, and the dangle is their new breast cancer awareness charm which features the lucerne flower (also known as alfalfa) and part of the proceeds benefit Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

This week, I’ve learned that I need to eat more whole grains, and make sure I get my healthy oil in. This past week, I’ve focused on these things, and have found that I am less hungry.

I finally made the mindset switch to new program. I’ve embraced the thought that this is not a diet, it’s a lifestyle change! I’ve been hearing that since I first joined Weight Watchers in 1997. This is the first time it’s actually stuck. I’m glad it hit me before I hit goal, otherwise, I might not have recognized it!

I’ve been on and off Weight Watchers for years. In 2005, I joined at 214.8 pounds. During that stint, I got down to 164.2, gained and lost a boyfriend, and put most of it back on. I never really quit, I just kept gaining, paying, and pretending I was following the program.

At the end of December 2009, I decided I was tired of comparing myself to where I had been. I started fresh at 194.2 pounds. At the beginning of January, my fantastic leader, Chris, gave us a poem which became an inspiration for me.

So what has changed? I’ve become a more active person (I’m now a runner, but not in the winter snow and ice), I have more energy, I now think before putting something in my mouth, I eat more fruits and vegetables, and most importantly – I like myself more!

So, this is the point where I start tearing up, so I’m going to end with my advice:

  1. NEVER give up your goals!
  2. Make sure that the goal is for you, not for others.
  3. Find a plan – whether it’s Weight Watchers, counting calories, or something else. Make sure it works for your lifestyle.
  4. Keep a food journal. If you’re writing down everything you’re eating, then you’re paying attention to it.
  5. Remember that YOU are worth it!

I will hunt around for some before photos and find someone to take a goal picture. There aren’t many before pictures because I didn’t want anyone to take them.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to GOAL!

  1. Will Nevin says:

    Congratz! Good luck in the maintenance department. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Congratulations!!

  3. This is excellent motivation. I can definitely identify with your roller coaster WW relationship, and I’m proud of you for finding your groove. Congrats!

  4. Pingback: I Made it, Now What? | The New Smaller Me

  5. Trixie says:

    Great job! I love your advice list too. I follow all those points and I really feel it’s made a big difference in my WLJ this time!

  6. Congratulations! This is amazing! Such an inspiration. 🙂 I’m so close to my goal too. I can’t wait. Loving your blog.

Leave a Reply

